Skip to content

Dark UX pattern: Don't coerce users to share on social media on new version splash screen #2166

Description

@alexeyabel

At least after the update to Nextcloud 33 and 34, a user is shown a splash screen which is then followed by a modal dialogue that lists new features of that release and has "Share on social media" as the primary (and only clearly visible) action. The option that likely 99,99% of users will want to chose is hidden on the top right corner.

IMO this is a dark UX pattern and makes Nextcloud appear deceptive and less trustworthy.

Image

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Projects

    Status
    To triage

    Milestone

    No milestone

    Relationships

    None yet

    Development

    No branches or pull requests

    Issue actions